Minutes of a Meeting of the Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee held via Electronic Communications in Fort McMurray, Alberta, on Wednesday, January 20, 2021, commencing at 5:00 PM.

Present:

Gaylene Weidlich, Community Development Sector, Chair Erica Brewer, Recreation Representative Andrew Crompton, Oil and Gas Industry Gary Devison, Seniors Representative Cathy Dreier, Public-at- Large Alan Gammon, Land Development Representative Keith Plowman, Business Community Representative Sean Robertson, Safety and Security Sector David Stirling, Public-at-Large Liana Wheeldon, Culture (Arts, Culture & Heritage) Krista Balsom, Councillor Phil Meagher, Councillor

Absent:

Bill Loutitt, Indigenous Representative

Administration:

Matthew Hough, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer Monica Lance, Manager, Special Projects Amanda Haitas, Senior Manager, Planning and Development Nina Caines, Senior Manager, Public Works Sonia Soutter, Manager, Legislative Services Anita Hawkins, Clerk, Legislative Services

1. Call to Order

Anita Hawkins, Clerk, Legislative Services, called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

2. Adoption of Agenda

Arrival

Cathy Dreier, Committee Member, joined the meeting at 5:07 p.m.

MOTION:

THAT the Agenda be adopted as presented.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Gary Devison, Seniors Representative

SECONDER: Cathy Dreier, Public-at- Large

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

3. Minutes of Previous Meetings

3.1. Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee Meeting - December 16, 2020

THAT the Minutes of the Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee meeting held on December 16, 2020 be approved as presented.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Keith Plowman SECONDER: Sean Robertson

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

4. New Business

4.1. Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

Gaylene Weidlich and Liana Wheeldon were nominated for the position of Chair, following acceptance of the nominations and a vote, Gaylene Weidlich was elected as Chair.

MOTION:

THAT Gaylene Weidlich be appointed as Chair of the Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Sean Robertson SECONDER: Liana Wheeldon

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

Assuming of the Chair

Gaylene Weidlich assumed the Chair at 5:20 p.m.

Sean Robertson nominated Liana Wheeldon for the position of Vice Chair. Following acceptance of the nomination Liana Wheeldon was elected Vice Chair by acclamation.

MOTION:

THAT Liana Wheeldon be appointed as Vice Chair of the Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Cathy Dreier SECONDER: Alan Gammon

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

4.2. 2021 Meeting Schedule

MOTION:

THAT regular Wood Buffalo Waterfront Advisory Committee meetings be held at 5:00 p.m., on the third Wednesday of each month.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Keith Plowman SECONDER: Sean Robertson

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

5. <u>Presentation</u>

5.1. Stephen Fudge, Manager Parks, Public Works, and Joshua Bernsen, Lees and Associates, re: Snye Point Outdoor Event Space Update and Engagement

Stephen Fudge, Manager, Parks, Public Works and Joshua Bernsen, Lee and Associates presented project updates and timelines on the Snye Point Outdoor Event Space and spoke to the emerging themes from engagements conducted to date and identified components of Stages 2 and 3 of the project.

Committee members provided further suggestions on what they would like to see being considered as part of the waterfront development.

6. New and Unfinished Business

6.1. Wood Buffalo Downtown Revitalization Administrative Update

Monica Lance, Manager, Special Projects, noted that the Wood Buffalo Downtown Revitalization Advisory Committee's primary areas of focus are within the downtown boundary including Franklin Avenue, the Franklin and Main Park as well as corridors to and from downtown and the waterfront.

Interest was shown in holding a joint meeting with the Wood Buffalo Downtown Revitalization Advisory Committee to discuss a wholistic approach to the waterfront and downtown development.

Chair Gaylene Weidlich requested that an update from administration on the Wood Buffalo Downtown Revitalization Advisory Committee become a standing item on the Committee's agenda.

6.2. Working Group Review and Updates

Overviews were provided on the scope of the Committee's Working Groups and new Committee members were provided with an opportunity to select the Working Groups they were interested in participating in.

MOTION:

THAT Andrew Crompton, Cathy Dreier, Keith Plowman, Sean Robertson and David Stirling be appointed to the Arts, Culture and Leisure Working Group;

that Gary Devison, Cathy Dreier, Bill Loutitt and Liana Wheeldon be appointed to the History with Seniors Working Group; and

that Erica Brewer, Alan Gammon, Bill Loutitt and Gaylene Weidlich be appointed to the Indigenous Cultural Advisory Working Group.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Keith Plowman SECONDER: Cathy Dreier

FOR: Wheeldon, Dreier, Weidlich, Robertson, Plowman, Devison,

Crompton, Brewer, Gammon, Stirling

ABSENT: Loutitt

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.		
	Chair	