Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Council of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo held in the Council Chamber at the Municipal Offices in Fort McMurray, Alberta, on Monday, December 10, 2018, commencing at 4:00 PM.

Present:

Don Scott, Mayor Krista Balsom, Councillor Bruce Inglis, Councillor Sheila Lalonde, Councillor Keith McGrath, Councillor Phil Meagher, Councillor Jeff Peddle, Councillor

Absent:

Mike Allen, Councillor Verna Murphy, Councillor Jane Stroud, Councillor Claris Voyageur, Councillor

Administration:

Annette Antoniak, Chief Administrative Officer
Jade Brown, Chief Legislative Officer
Christopher Booth, Acting Director, Planning and Development
Marc Fortais, Director, Public Works
Elsie Hutton, Director, Corporate and Community Services
Matthew Hough, Director, Engineering
Lynda McLean, Director, Communications, Stakeholder, Indigenous and Rural Relations
Linda Ollivier, Director, Financial Services
Susan Trylinski, Director, Legal Services
Anita Hawkins, Legislative Officer

1. Call to Order

Mayor D. Scott called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

2. <u>Presentations</u>

2.1. Athabasca Tribal Council - Rebuilding Resilient Indigenous Communities

Karla Buffalo, CEO Athabasca Tribal Council and Bill Loutitt, CEO, McMurray Métis, gave opening statements on the subject matter.

Dr. Timothy Clark, Willow Springs Strategic Solutions, Lead Researcher and author of the Rebuilding Resilient Indigenous Research Report, provided an overview and recommendations resulting from the Research Report conducted for the Athabasca Tribal Council, the Athabasca River Métis, and the Nistawoyou Friendship Centre. The video Voices Around the Fire: An Indigenous Wildfire Story was shown to illustrate the impacts to the indigenous communities.

Ron Kreutzer, Chief, Fort McMurray First Nation provided testimonial on his experience during the 2016 wildfire.

Councillor Michelle Voyageur, Proxy Chief, Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, spoke in support of the recommendations stemming from the Research Report.

Exit and Return

Councillor S. Lalonde exited the Chamber at 4:56 p.m. and returned at 4:59 p.m.

Gail Gallupe, President, Bill Loutitt, CEO and Corey Hobbs, Government Relations and Communications Manager, Fort McMurray Métis, spoke in support of the recommendations coming out of the Research Report.

Karla Buffalo, CEO, Athabasca Tribal Council, provided closing comments with respect to the presentation.

2.2. Fire Chief Jody Butz re: Resilient Indigenous Communities

Exit and Return

Councillor K. Balsom exited the Chamber at 5:26 p.m. and returned at 5:27 p.m.

Fire Chief Jody Butz and Perry Gillam, Deputy Chief, Professional Services, provided a presentation on Resilient Indigenous Communities which addressed the recommendations from the Research Report and noted that the Emergency Management Framework is in the process of being updated.

Exit and Return

Councillor K. McGrath exited the Chamber at 5:59 p.m. and returned at 6:01 p.m.

Through questions of Council to Administration, it was indicated that Administration would convene a meeting of the Emergency Advisory Committee with all indigenous partners, within the first 90 days of 2019 to discuss next steps.

Recess

A recess occurred from 6:08 p.m. to 6:18 p.m.

3. New Business

3.1. IAFF Local 2494 Collective Bargaining

Kari Westhaver, Director, Human Resources, provided an overview of the report before Council.

MOTION:

THAT the Collective Agreement with International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF) Local 2494 for a four (4) year term from January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2020 be approved.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Jeff Peddle, Councillor
SECONDER: Krista Balsom, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher, Peddle

ABSENT: Allen, Murphy, Stroud, Voyageur

3.2. Council Policy Review

MOTION:

THAT the following Council policies be rescinded:

- SER-040 Local Improvement
- PRL-030 Hosting
- ADM-130 City Signature
- ADM-670 Document Preparation
- PUR-070 Equipment and Dump Truck Rentals
- FIN-080 Budget Transfer Appropriation
- PRL-080 Volunteer
- PRL-140 Alliance

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Phil Meagher, Councillor
SECONDER: Krista Balsom, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher, Peddle

ABSENT: Allen, Murphy, Stroud, Voyageur

MOTION:

THAT the following Council policies be updated to reflect current organizational structure and nomenclature, and approved for a further period of three years:

- ADM-250 Land Acquisition Policy
- LEG-180 Attendance at Political Fundraising Events and Other Events
- FIN-230 Taxable Benefits

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Krista Balsom, Councillor
SECONDER: Jeff Peddle, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher, Peddle

ABSENT: Allen, Murphy, Stroud, Voyageur

MOTION:

THAT the following Council policies be replaced with and are immediately rescinded upon approval of the Administrative Directive:

• HRM-550 – Exempt Performance Management

HRM-620 – Exempt Severance

• HRM-540 – Learning Development & Training

HRM-510 – Municipally Funded Commuting

HRM-670 – Overtime during an Extraordinary Event

HRM-570 – Transitional and Temporary Housing

• SER-060 – Engineering Servicing Standards

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Sheila Lalonde, Councillor
SECONDER: Jeff Peddle, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher, Peddle

ABSENT: Allen, Murphy, Stroud, Voyageur

3.3. Committee Appointments

MOTION:

THAT the Board and Committee Appointments, as outlined in Attachment 1 – Council Committee Appointments, be approved effective January 1, 2019:

Advisory Committee on Aging

• Gary Devison, Senior-at-Large (Urban) representative to December 31, 2019; and Joan Furber, Golden Years Society representative and Linda Mywaart, Senior-at-Large (Rural) representative, to December 31, 2020.

Assessment Review Board

Keith Haxton, Joshua Gogo, and Nayef Majgoub to December 31, 2020.

Combative Sports Commission

Roger Ashfield, Sandy Bowman, and Phil Heinzelman to December 31, 2020.

Communities in Bloom Committee

 Ayesha Tariq to December 31, 2019, and Adeline Azangue, Johnny Dulku, Joanne Fisher to December 31, 2020.

Community Identification Committee

Carrie Loy and Chantelle Tatum to December 31, 2020.

Fort McMurray Airport Authority

Keith Haxton to December 31, 2022.

Public Art Committee

Roxana Bashapoor and Todd Hillier to December 31, 2020.

Regional Advisory Committee on Inclusion, Equality and Diversity

Jason Beck, Glenda Little-Kulai, and Nicole Greville to December 31, 2020.

Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

• Jeffrey Marleau to December 31, 2019 and Alex McKenzie, Sean Schaffer, and Taliesin Tupper to December 31, 2020.

Wood Buffalo Regional Library Board

• Corinna Pirie and Carla White to December 31, 2021.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Krista Balsom, Councillor
SECONDER: Sheila Lalonde, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher, Peddle

ABSENT: Allen, Murphy, Stroud, Voyageur

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 6:26 p.m.	
	Mayor
	Chief Legislative Officer