Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo


East Clearwater Highway - Primary Transportation Priority


Department:Legislative ServicesSponsors:


  1. Printout


THAT Council identify the East Clearwater Highway as the primary transportation priority in the RMWB; and

THAT a letter be drafted to the local MLAs, the MP, the Premier, the Prime Minister, the Provincial Minister of Transportation and the relevant Federal Ministers setting out that it is our regions primary transportation priority and that the benefits of the Highway include but are not limited to the following:

·         Dangerous Goods route that is not only hundreds of meters from our Aging in Place and Hospital Facilities;

·         In the case of an evacuation for any reason, fire or otherwise, it gives our emergency response teams three choices to move people away from harm; and

·         It sets a natural fire break should the fire come from a different direction next time.

Meeting History

Jul 8, 2019 4:00 PM Video Council Special Council Meeting

Vacating and Assuming of Chair Mayor D. Scott vacated the Chair and Acting Mayor C. Voyageur assumed the Chair at 4:43 p.m.

Delegates Marty Giles, local business owner and previous member of the Wood Buffalo’s Recovery Committee, presented various options that have been discussed for a secondary route out of Fort McMurray and supported the motion as presented by Mayor D. Scott.

Gilles Huizinga, Chair of Housing Sub Committee, and President, BILD Wood Buffalo spoke in support of the motion before Council.

Exit and Return Councillor K. Balsom exited the meeting at 5:31 p.m. and returned at 5:34 p.m.

Delegates (con't) Bryce Kumka, President, Chamber of Commerce, spoke in support of the proposed East Clearwater Highway.

Mike Durocher, local business owner, spoke in support of an East-West Connector as opposed to the East Clearwater Highway from a safety and economic perspective.

Recess A recess occurred between 5:37 p.m. and 5:49 p.m.

MOVER:Don Scott, Mayor
SECONDER:Jeff Peddle, Councillor
FOR:Don Scott, Mike Allen, Krista Balsom, Bruce Inglis, Jeff Peddle, Jane Stroud
AGAINST:Sheila Lalonde, Verna Murphy, Claris Voyageur
ABSENT:Keith McGrath, Phil Meagher