Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Council of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo held in the Council Chamber at the Municipal Offices in Fort McMurray, Alberta, on Tuesday, March 29, 2022, commencing at 3:00 PM.

Present:

Sandy Bowman, Mayor
Ken Ball, Councillor
Funky Banjoko, Councillor
Lance Bussieres, Councillor
Shafiq Dogar, Councillor
Allan Grandison, Councillor
Keith McGrath, Councillor
Jane Stroud, Councillor
Loretta Waquan, Councillor
Stu Wigle, Councillor

Absent:

Kendrick Cardinal, Councillor

Administration:

Jamie Doyle, Chief Administrative Officer
Jade Brown, Chief Legislative Officer
Deanne Bergey, Director, Community and Protective Services
Kari Donnelly, Director, Human Resources
Kelly Hansen, Director, Strategic Planning and Program Management
Matthew Harrison, Director, Communications and Engagement
Brad McMurdo, Director, Planning and Development
Antoine Rempp, Director, Environmental Services
Keith Smith, Director, Public Works
Susan Trylinski, Director, Legal Services
Dennis Warr, Director, Engineering
Caitlin Sheaves, Legislative Coordinator

1. Call to Order

Mayor S. Bowman called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

2. <u>Minutes of Previous Meetings</u>

2.1. Council Meeting - March 22, 2022

THAT the Minutes of the Council Meeting held on March 22, 2022, be approved as presented.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Stu Wigle, Councillor

SECONDER: Allan Grandison, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Grandison, Stroud, Waquan,

Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal, Dogar, McGrath

Recess

A recess occurred from 3:06 p.m. to 3:08 p.m.

3. New and Unfinished Business

3.1. Bylaw No. 22/003 - Committees Bylaw No. 17/024 Amendment Specific to the Establishment of the Community Investment Program Advisory Committee

Jade Brown, Chief Legislative Officer, presented Bylaw No. 22/003 which will establish the Community Investment Program Advisory Committee, whose mandate will be to bring forward recommendations to Council regarding the general mandate and scope of the Community Investment Program.

Entrances

Councillors K. McGrath and S. Dogar entered the meeting at 3:13 p.m.

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 22/003, being a bylaw to amend the Committees Bylaw No. 17/024, specific to establishing the Community Investment Program Advisory Committee, be read a first time.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Ken Ball, Councillor

SECONDER: Allan Grandison, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waguan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 22/003 be read a second time.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Stu Wigle, Councillor SECONDER: Jane Stroud, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 22/003 be considered for third and final reading.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Stu Wigle, Councillor

SECONDER: Allan Grandison, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 22/003 be read a third and final time.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Jane Stroud, Councillor SECONDER: Loretta Waquan, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

3.2. Tax Refund Request - Plan: 1421965 Unit: 2

Keivan Navidi, Manager, Assessment, provided an overview of the tax refund request for a portion of the owner's 2020 and 2021 property taxes, noting that Administration is in support of the request.

MOTION:

THAT the request for a tax refund, in the amount of \$9,263.76 comprising of municipal tax, education requisition and senior's requisition, for the property located at Plan: 1421965 Unit 2 in Fort McMurray, be approved.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Allan Grandison, Councillor
SECONDER: Loretta Waguan, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waguan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

4. <u>Councillors' Motions</u>

4.1. Property Tax Ratio (Cr. K. McGrath)

Councillor K. McGrath put forward the following motion for consideration.

"THAT Administration provide an update to the Government of Alberta on the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo's transition from an 18:1 property tax ratio to 7.5:1 property tax ratio; and request to stay at the 7.5:1 ratio for the next 5 years and on the 6th year, transition to the final 5:1 ratio; and further request that the Government of Alberta accept this proposal by June 1, 2022."

Councillor K. McGrath spoke to the motion before Council, noting the importance of a formal agreement between the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo and the Government of Alberta, regarding the transition to the 5:1 tax ratio.

Perry Berkenpas, Executive Director, Oil Sands Community Alliance, spoke in support of continuing to work collaboratively with the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo on achieving the 5:1 ratio in alignment with the previously committed transition plan and timeframe.

Mayor S. Bowman suggested a friendly amendment to replace 7.5:1 with 7.3:1 and replace "and request to stay at the 7.5:1 ratio for the next 5 years and on the 6th year, transition to the final 5:1 ratio" with "to move gradually and responsibly to the final 5:1 ratio by January 2028".

The friendly amendment was accepted by Councillor K. McGrath.

Council then voted on the motion as follows:

MOTION:

THAT Administration provide an update to the Government of Alberta on the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo's transition from an 18:1 property tax ratio to 7.3:1 property tax ratio; to move gradually and responsibly to the final 5:1 ratio by January 2028, and further request that the Government of Alberta accept this proposal by June 1, 2022.

RESULT: CARRIED AS AMENDED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Keith McGrath, Councillor SECONDER: Stu Wigle, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

5. Councillor Reporting/Information Updates

Council Members provided updates on various topics of personal interest and initiatives in the Region.

Recess

A recess occurred to allow the public to vacate the Council Chamber from 3:57 p.m. to 4:11 p.m.

6. <u>In-Camera Session</u>

MOTION:

THAT Council close item 6.1 to the public pursuant to sections 17(1) and 19(1) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Keith McGrath, Councillor
SECONDER: Shafiq Dogar, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

6.1 Disclosure Harmful to Personal Privacy/Confidential Evaluations – Board and Committee Appointments

(in camera pursuant to sections 17(1) and 19(1) of the *Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act*)

Name	Reason for Attending
Jamie Doyle	Chief Administrative Officer
Jade Brown	Legislative Advice/Clerk
Sonia Soutter	Legislative Advice/Clerk

Exit

Jade Brown, Chief Legislative Officer, exited the meeting at 4:30 p.m. and returned at 4:50 p.m.

MOTION:

THAT the meeting reconvene in public.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Jane Stroud, Councillor

FOR: Bowman, Ball, Banjoko, Bussieres, Dogar, Grandison, McGrath,

Stroud, Waquan, Wigle

ABSENT: Cardinal

Adjournment

or
/

Chief Legislative Officer