Minutes of a Meeting of the Communities in Bloom Committee held via electronic communications in Fort McMurray, Alberta, on Thursday, February 24, 2022, commencing at 6:00 PM.

Present:

Helen Meyer, Chair Destiny Jefferies, Vice Chair Johnny Dulku, Public-at-Large Victoria Ganace, Public-at-Large Nicole McMillan, Public-at-Large

Absent:

Ayesha Malik, Public-at-Large Qasim Malik, Public-at-Large Kendrick Cardinal, Councillor

Administration:

Terra Brenneis, Manager, Community Relations Seville Kwan, Department Administrator, Public Works Sonia Soutter, Manager, Senior Legislative Officer Destiny Hilliard, Clerk, Legislative Services,

1. Call to Order

Helen Meyer, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:09 p.m.

2. Adoption of Agenda

MOTION:

THAT the Agenda be adopted as presented.

RESULT: MOVER: SECONDER: FOR:	CARRIED [UNANIMOUS] Nicole McMillan Johnny Dulku Dulku, Ganace, McMillan, Jefferies, Meyer
FOR:	Dulku, Ganace, McMillan, Jefferies, Meyer
ABSENT:	A. Malik, Q. Malik, Cardinal

3. <u>Minutes of Previous Meetings</u>

3.1. Communities in Bloom Committee Meeting – January 27, 2022

MOTION:

THAT the minutes of the Communities in Bloom Meeting held on January 27, 2022 be approved as presented.

RESULT:	CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Victoria Ganace
SECONDER:	Destiny Jefferies
FOR:	Dulku, Ganace, McMillan, Jefferies, Meyer
ABSENT:	A. Malik, Q. Malik, Cardinal

4. <u>New and Unfinished Business</u>

4.1. Flower of the Year Update

Seville Kwan, Department Administrator, provided an update on the Flower of The Year program that closed on January 31,2022 noting the flower of the year was chosen as the Zinnia. Sweet William came in second place, and Geranium in third. It was further noted that the Committee has consulted with parks and have received recommendations for Cherry Queen Zinnia seeds or Oklahoma Scarlett Zinnia seeds.

4.2. Communities in Bloom – Year of the Garden Proclamation

Helen Meyer, Chair, and Seville Kwan, Department Administrator, gave an overview of the Year of the Garden Proclamation. It was noted the National Communities in Bloom organization provided a proclamation template and encourages all participating Communities in Bloom communities to submit a "Year of the Garden" proclamation.

MOTION:

That the Communities in Bloom support Administration submitting a Proclamation Request for the "Year of the Garden 2022"

RESULT:	CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Johnny Dulku
SECONDER:	Victoria Ganace
FOR:	Dulku, Ganace, McMillan, Jefferies, Meyer
ABSENT:	A. Malik, Q. Malik, Cardinal

4.3. Communities in Bloom Registration and Judges Tour

Seville Kwan, Department Administrator, gave an update on the National Communities in Bloom program noting that they are offering the evaluation portion of the judge's tour in which judges will travel to communities with a similar population number to evaluate the communities on various environmental and beautification initiatives. Communities have the option to participate as a registrant or as a competitor in the evaluation process. It was further noted that the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo is at the International level and have the option to compete or take part in Circle of Excellence, a category that allows the Committee to participate as a registered community.

The recommendation was made that the Communities in Bloom Committee move forward with the evaluation progress rather than participate in the Circle of Excellence category as it may be a better fit in consideration to hosting the 2023 symposium.

MOTION:

That Communities in Bloom support Administration registering for the International Category for the 2022 National Communities in Bloom program.

RESULT:	CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Nicole McMillan
SECONDER:	Victoria Ganace
FOR:	Dulku, Ganace, McMillan, Jefferies, Meyer
ABSENT:	A. Malik, Q. Malik, Cardinal

4.4. Council Appointed Committee Boards and Committees Presentation

Sonia Soutter, Manager, Senior Legislative Officer, gave a presentation on Council Appointed Committee guidelines. She also gave a brief overview of the Communities in Bloom Committee Bylaws with a focus on communication, responsibilities, processes, roles, and timelines.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Chair