Minutes of the Organizational Meeting of the Council of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo held in the Council Chambers at the Municipal Offices in Fort McMurray, Alberta, on Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Present: M. Blake, Mayor

M. Allen, Councillor
D. Blair, Councillor
M. Byron, Councillor
S. Clarkson, Councillor
S. Flett, Councillor
S. Germain, Councillor
R. Rebus, Councillor
J. Vyboh, Councillor

Absent: G. Janvier, Councillor

P. Meagher, Councillor

Administration: R. Burkard, Chief Administrative Officer

S. Kanzig, Chief Legislative Officer K. Greig, Deputy CAO – Corporate

N. Qureshi, Acting Deputy CAO – Operations

A. Hawkins, Legislative Officer

B. Broomfield-Andrews, Legislative Assistant L.J. Johnson, Recorder/Legislative Assistant

Call to Order

Mayor Blake called the meeting to order at 7:59 p.m.

Agenda

<u>08-256</u> Moved by Councillor Clarkson that the agenda be adopted

as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Reports

1. 2009 Council Schedule

<u>08-257</u> Moved by Councillor Allen:

- 1. THAT 2009 Community Engagement Initiatives be held in Fort Chipewyan, Anzac and Conklin, at a date to be determined by community leaders.
- 2. THAT a Summer Recess be held from July 15, 2009 –

August 23, 2009, and a Holiday Recess be held from December 9, 2009 – January 10, 2010.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

2. Council Committee Representation – 2008/2009

08-258 Moved by Councillor Clarkson:

- 1. THAT Council Members be appointed to represent Council on Part 9 Corporations, as follows:
 - Fort McMurray Regional Airport Commission Councillor Vyboh
 - MacDonald Island Park Corporation Councillor Germain
- 2. THAT Council Members be appointed to represent Council on Council Committees, as follows:
 - Communities In Bloom Committee Councillors Blair and Meagher
 - Community Identification Committee Councillors Meagher and Rebus
 - Community Services Advisory Committee -Councillor Blair
 - Regional Advisory Committee on Inclusion,
 Diversity and Equality Councillor Rebus
 - Resource Development Review Committee -Councillor Allen
 - Selection Committee Councillors Allen, Germain, Rebus and Vyboh.
- 3. THAT Council Members be appointed to represent Council on external committees, as follows:
 - ALPAC Landscape Advisory Committee Councillor Byron
 - Clearwater Heritage River Committee Councillor Allen
 - Commuter Air Access Network of Alberta -Councillor Blair
 - Inter-City Forum on Social Policy Councillor Clarkson
 - Leadership Wood Buffalo Councillor Clarkson
 - Oil Sands Discovery Centre Advisory Committee Councillor Meagher
 - Senior Citizens Liaison Councillor Byron CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Deputy and Acting Mayor Rosters – 2008/2009

<u>08-259</u> Moved by Councillor Vyboh that the following Deputy and Acting Mayor Roster be adopted for the period November 1, 2008 until October 31, 2009:

- November 1, 2008 January 31, 2009
 Deputy Mayor Germain; Acting Mayor Clarkson
- February 1, 2009 April 30, 2009 –
 Deputy Mayor Allen; Acting Mayor Meagher
- May 1, 2009 July 31, 2009
 Deputy Mayor Clarkson; Acting Mayor Vyboh
- August 1, 2009 October 31, 2009
 Deputy Mayor Vyboh; Acting Mayor Germain
 CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Adjournment

<u>08-260</u> Moved by Councillor Blair that the meeting be adjourned. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The meeting adjourned at 8:07 p.m.	
	Mayor
	Chief Legislative Officer