Minutes of a Meeting of the Council of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo held in the Council Chamber at the Fort McKay School in Fort McKay, Alberta, on Tuesday, January 23, 2018, commencing at 6:00 PM.

Present: Don Scott, Mayor

Mike Allen, Councillor Krista Balsom, Councillor Bruce Inglis, Councillor Sheila Lalonde, Councillor Keith McGrath, Councillor Phil Meagher, Councillor Verna Murphy, Councillor Jeff Peddle, Councillor Jane Stroud, Councillor

Absent: Claris Voyageur, Councillor

Administration: Annette Antoniak, Chief Administrative Officer

Audrey Rogers, Chief Legislative Officer

Elsie Hutton, Chief Financial Officer

Robert Billard, Director, Public Works and Transit Carole Bouchard, Director, Community Services Jamie Doyle, Director, Planning and Development Mazhar Hajhossein, Acting Director, Engineering

David Leflar, Director, Legal Services Anita Hawkins, Legislative Officer

In Camera

Council met in camera between 1:00 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

Meeting with Fort McKay Community Association Leadership

(in camera pursuant to section 17 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act)

Meeting with Fort McKay First Nation Leadership

(in camera pursuant to section 17 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act)

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:09 p.m.

Adoption of Agenda

3.1. Motion to Approve Agenda

MOTION

THAT the Agenda be approved as presented.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Mike Allen, Councillor
SECONDER: Phil Meagher, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

Minutes of Previous Meetings

4.1. Regular Council - Meeting and Special Council Meeting - January 9, 2018

MOTION:

THAT the Minutes of the Regular Council Meeting and the Special Council Meeting held on January 9, 2018 be approved as presented.

RESULT: ACCEPTED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Krista Balsom, Councillor
SECONDER: Jane Stroud, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

Recognition

5.1. Proclamation - Family Literacy Day - January 27, 2018

Mayor Scott read out the Family Literacy Day proclamation.

<u>Presentations and Delegations</u>

6.1. Ron Quintal, McKay Métis re: Changing the name of the hamlet from Fort MacKay to Fort McKay

Mr. Ron Quintal, President, Fort McKay Community Association, presented to Council, requesting consideration for changing the spelling of the community name from Fort MacKay to Fort McKay.

<u>**Unfinished Business**</u>

7.1. Public Hearing for Bylaw No. 17/022 - Fort McKay Area Structure Plan

Mayor Scott declared the Public Hearing open at 6:22 p.m.

Jamie Doyle, Director, Planning and Development, introduced the Fort McKay Area Structure Plan (ASP), noting that the process occurred over several years and involved a great deal of public consultation.

The following individuals spoke in support of the Fort McKay Area Structure Plan:

- Ron Quintal, President, Fort McKay Community Association
- Lauretta Waquan, Financial Director, Fort McKay Community Association
- Glen Faichney, Vice-President, Fort McKay Community Association
- Felix Faichney, Board Director, Fort McKay Community Association
- Bob Niwa, Regional Operations Manager, Site Resource Group
- Justin Herman, Chard Métis Association
- Bill Loutitt, Chief Executive Officer, McMurray Métis
- Nicole Gardner, Willow Lake Métis Association
- Jay Telegdi, Government Relations Manager
- Dwayne Roth, Chief Executive Officer, Fort McKay Métis Group
- Edison Lee Johnson, Executive Director, Fort McKay Community Association.
- Melinda Stewart, member, Fort McKay First Nation; spoke neither in support nor opposition of the ASP, however, identified concerns with respect to community safety that may come with increased population density and development.
- Massey Whiteknife, resident, spoke in opposition to the ASP.

Jamie Doyle, Director, Planning and Development, addressed questions of Council, noting that the ASP is being established to allow for orderly development. All future developments would be required to go through standard development permit process and approvals.

Mayor Scott declared the Public Hearing closed at 7:26 p.m.

7.2. Rural Committee Recommendation: Bylaw 17/022 Fort McKay Area Structure Plan

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 17/022, being the Fort McKay Area Structure Plan, be read a second time.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Phil Meagher, Councillor
SECONDER: Keith McGrath, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

MOTION:

THAT Bylaw No. 17/022 be read a third and final time.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Krista Balsom, Councillor
SECONDER: Phil Meagher, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

Recess

A break occurred between 7:35 p.m. and 7:46 p.m.

New Business

8.1. Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation Addition to Reserve

Dennis Fraser, Director, Indigenous and Rural Relations, provided background information on the subject matter.

Chief Allan Adam, Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, came forward and spoke in support of the recommendation before Council.

Ron Quintal, President, Fort McKay Community Association, came forward and spoke in support of the recommendation before Council.

MOTION:

THAT the Mayor send a letter of support to the Federal Minister of the Department of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada for the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation's Addition to Reserve; and

THAT Administration be directed to work with Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation to enter into a Service Agreement and an Agreement to harmonize governance.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Bruce Inglis, Councillor
SECONDER: Jeff Peddle, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

8.2. Citizen Recognition Program Recommendations

Carole Bouchard, Director, Community Services, introduced the matter before Council.

MOTION:

THAT a total of eight (8) recipients for the 2017 Citizen Recognition Program be approved and kept confidential until they are announced at the Mayor and Council's Toast of Champions Ceremony on January 25, 2018.

RESULT: CARRIED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Phil Meagher, Councillor
SECONDER: Krista Balsom, Councillor

FOR: Scott, Allen, Balsom, Inglis, Lalonde, McGrath, Meagher,

Murphy, Peddle, Stroud

ABSENT: Voyageur

Adjournment

The	meeting	adjourned	at	8:10	p.m.
1110	mooning	aajoarrioa	чı	0.10	P.1111

Mayor